"Goalie" Response

18/09/2013 22:10

December 23rd/13

Diary

    I hate it! I hate the equipment. But I have to wear it or I'll get seriously injured. It's disgusting. The smell of sweat is nauseating and it reminds me of the pain. The pain when pucks come rushing at me, leaving behind nothing but bruises on my chest, knees, and biceps. Everyone thinks I'm immune to the pain, but I'm no superman. Of course it hurts me! I end up with bruises, nose bleeds, sprains, and muscle cramps. This pain and failure is too much for a child. It's like being an adult. Everyone thinks being a goalie is easy. Just keep the puck out of the net. But they're all wrong. To be a good goalie, you have to keep your eye on the puck, calculate all possibilites of the other team scoring, make sure you know where all the players are, and keep the puck out of the net. To make it even harder, the goalie needs to do all that at once. It's hard, but I love it. Sometimes dad asks me if I like playing hockey. And I always say, "I love it." Cause when I'm not playing, I'm bored. Playing as goalie is what I'll always love. It's what makes my life great.